All Unmanned Level Crossings In Critical Zones To Be Eliminated By 2020

All Unmanned Level Crossings In Critical Zones To Be Eliminated By 2020

Want create site? With Free visual composer you can do it easy.

Date Of Post: 28 Apr, 2018

New Delhi: More than 70% of all unmanned level crossings (UMLCs) are in 5 railway zones, official data shows. These 5 zones – labelled by the Indian Railways as critical, as they have the most unmanned level crossings – have 2,556 UMLCs out of a total of 3,479 such crossings on broad-gauge across the railway network.

More Information:

  • The North Eastern Railway zone headquartered in Gorakhpur has 553 such UMLCs.
  • The other zones in the critical list include:
  1. Northern Railway zone with headquarters in Delhi (606)
  2. Western Railway in Mumbai (638)
  3. North Western Railway in Jaipur (311)
  4. East Central Railway at Hajipur (448)

Elimination of Unmanned Level Crossings-

  • While the union Railway Minister Piyush Goyal has set a target of September 2018 for complete elimination of all unmanned level crossings (UMLCs) in routes with high traffic, ministry officials said that most such UMLCs, including those in critical zones, will be eliminated by 2020.
  • All unmanned level crossings will either be converted to manned crossings or the Railways will undertake construction of over or under bridges to bypass such crossings, according to officials.
  • Officials said, mechanical manned level crossings cost around Rs 10 lakh to build, while electric ones cost around Rs 27 lakh.
  • The Railways has been aggressively removing UMLCs – 1,565 of them were eliminated in 2017-18 and the target is of removing 1,600 in 2018-19.

    Image Credit: Western Railway

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of