Station Redevelopment Programme of Railways

Station Redevelopment Programme of Railways

Want create site? With Free visual composer you can do it easy.

Date Of Post : 03 Feb, 2018

The Union Cabinet approved Railways’ proposal for redevelopment of ‘A-1’ and ‘A’ category stations (total about 400 stations) on ‘as is where is’ basis, by inviting open bids from interested parties with their designs and business ideas duly providing for amenities and other requirements of the Railways including permitting commercial development of real estate by Zonal Railways.

Accordingly, station redevelopment program by Zonal Railways was launched on 08.02.2017. Following 23 stations were taken up for bidding in first phase: –

S. No. Name of Station State S. No. Name of station State
1 LokmanyaTilak (T) Maharashtra 13 Faridabad Haryana
2 Pune Maharashtra 14 Jammu Tawi Jammu & Kashmir
3 Thane Maharashtra 15 Secunderabad Andhra Pradesh
4 Mumbai Central Maharashtra 16 Vijayawada Andhra Pradesh
5 Bandra Terminus Maharashtra 17 Ranchi Jharkhand
6 Borivali Maharashtra 18 Chennai Central Tamil Nadu
7 Howrah West Bengal 19 Kozhikode Kerala
8 Visakhapatnam Andhra Pradesh 20 Yashwantpur Karnataka
9 Kanpur Central Uttar Pradesh 21 Bangalore Cantt Karnataka
10 Allahabad Uttar Pradesh 22 Indore Madhya Pradesh
11 Kamakhya Assam 23 Bhopal Madhya Pradesh
12 Udaipur City Rajasthan

In the first phase of redevelopment for 23 stations, bids only for Jammu Tawi and Kozhikode Railway Stations have been received and are under evaluation. The other stations did not receive any bid.

A dedicated organization viz. Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Ltd. (IRSDC) was set up in the year 2012 for the purpose of station redevelopment on Indian Railways. Six stations viz., Anand Vihar, Bijwasan, Chandigarh, Habibganj (Bhopal), Shivaji Nagar (Pune) and Gandhinagar have been entrusted to Indian Railway Stations Development Corporation Ltd. (IRSDC) for redevelopment.

An MOU has been signed by Ministry of Railways with Ministry of Urban Development for integrated planning for station redevelopment projects in cities identified as SMART cities in association with Smart City authorities. Ten (10) stations i.e; Tirupati, Delhi Sarai Rohilla, Nellore, Madgaon, Lucknow, Gomtinagar, Kota, Thane New, Ernakulam Jn. and Puducherry have been taken up for redevelopment under this scheme, jointly by Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) & National Building Construction Company (NBCC).

Rail Land Development Authority has been entrusted to redevelop Safdarjung Station in New Delhi along with IRCON.

Source: pib

Image Credit: IRSDC

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of