Minister Of Railways Directs To Re-Categorize Railway Stations Taking Into Account Earnings, Passenger Footfall, Strategic Importance

Minister Of Railways Directs To Re-Categorize Railway Stations Taking Into Account Earnings, Passenger Footfall, Strategic Importance

Want create site? With Free visual composer you can do it easy.

Date Of Post: 28 Dec, 2017

In a major policy decision, Ministry of Railways has comprehensively revised categories of various Railway Stations with a view to make it more practical and rational. This comes after the Minister of Railways & Coal, Shri Piyush Goyal directed to re-categorize railway stations taking into account earnings, passenger footfall, strategic importance with a view to plan various passenger services and passenger amenities at stations in a more effective and focused manner. It will also help the passenger to have a better experience in relation to travel amenities at stations.

The earlier criteria for station categorisation was based on the annual passenger earnings only.  Stations were categorised into 7 categories which A-1, A, B, C, D, E and F.  The criteria for categorisation of stations have now been revised to include footfalls at the station.  The stations have been further segregated based on the type and clubbed into 3 groups i.e. non-suburban (NS), suburban (S) and Halt (H).  Further these groups have been put in grades ranging from NSG1-6, SG1-3 and HG1-3 respectively.

In the old criteria the number of stations with high passenger footfalls (handling high number of commuter and MST pass holders etc.) could not be covered into the higher category of station which led to these stations being eligible for lower level of amenities.  As per the new criteria the number of footfalls has also been given equal weightage and is taken into account as criteria for categorisation of stations.  Therefore, many stations like Kalyan, Panvel, Tambaram, Thane have qualified into the higher category and become eligible for higher level of passenger amenities.

Under this new scheme of categorization of railway stations, the stations have been clubbed into 3 groups namely Non-Suburban, Suburban and Halt. Further, these groups have been put in different grades ranging from 1-6. Accordingly following categories have been  formed.

Presently, there are 5976 Non-Suburban Railway Station, 484 Suburban Railway Stations and 2153 Halts, which makes total number of stations as 8613. This categorization of stations has been done for the period 2017-18 to 2022-23.

Category of stations Criteria of Earnings (in Rs.) Criteria of outward Passengers handled
I.                   Non-Suburban
NSG 1 More than 500 Crore More than 20 Million
NSG 2 100 to 500 Crore 10 to 20 Million
NSG 3 20 to 100 Crore 05 to 10 Million
NSG 4 10 to 20 Crore 02 to 05 Million
NSG 5 01 to 10 Crore 01 to 02 Million
NSG 6 Upto 01 Crore Upto 01 Million
            Total of (I) 5976
II.                Suburban
SG 1 More than 25 Crore More than 30 Million
SG 2 10 to 25 Crore 10 to 30 Million
SG 3 Upto 10 Crore Upto 10 Million

              Total of (II) 484

III.             Halts
HG 1 More than 50 Lakh More than 03 lakh
HG 2 05 to 50 lakh 01 to 03 lakh
HG 3 Upto 05 lakh Upto 01 lakh
           Total of (III) 2153
         Total Number of stations (I+II+III) 8613

Source: pib

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of