Commuters From Delhi, Gurgaon, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Panipat & Alwar Will Get Direct Trains To and From Most NCR Towns In Next 7-8 Years

Commuters From Delhi, Gurgaon, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Panipat & Alwar Will Get Direct Trains To and From Most NCR Towns In Next 7-8 Years

Want create site? With Free visual composer you can do it easy.

Date of Post: 28 Nov, 2017

New Delhi : Commuters who travels to and from Delhi, Gurgaon, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Panipat and Alwar will not have to change trains once the proposed high-speed rail network linking NCR cities becomes operational in about seven-eight years from now.


  • The National Capital Region Transport Corporation Limited (NCRTC), which is implementing the Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS), is working on a plan to run point-to-point trains to and from these destinations.
  • The inter-connectivity system will be different from Delhi Metro, where passengers have to change trains to reach different destinations on different lines.
  • Under the RRTS, three corridors
    • Delhi-Meerut
    • Delhi-Panipat
    • Delhi-Alwar, were proposed with Sarai Kale Khan in Delhi as an interchange hub.
  • The NCRTC plans to run trains in all the three directions from the points of origin.
  • The Delhi Integrated Multi-Modal Transit System (DIMTS) is conducting the study to know the traffic pattern for finalizing the frequency.
  • DIMTS officials are travelling in buses, trains to speak to the commuters.
  • “The stations will be designed depending on the traffic we are expecting. The study will help us in finalising the design and the capacity of stations,” said an NCRTC spokesperson.
  • Out of the three corridors, Delhi-Meerut is likely to be commissioned first with construction slated to begin by June 2018 and is expected to be completed by 2024.
  • The other two corridors are awaiting DPR approval. Construction is expected to begin by the end of 2018 and likely to be completed before 2025.
  • The estimated cost of the Delhi-Meerut line is Rs 32,598 crore and Delhi-Panipat is around Rs 30,000 crore.

An official From NCRTC said, “We will run the operations in such a way that a passenger will not have to come out of the train to go to any destination. Trains for every direction will run from one point. And where we are integrating with metro, the stations are being designed in a way that a passenger would not have to walk much to catch a metro train.”


  • Design Speed Of The Rail Corridor : 180 kmph
  • Operational Speed : 160 kmph
  • Average Speed is 100 kmph.
  • Train Frequency : Every 5 to 10 minutes
  • Train Coaches : Six-car combination
  • Passenger Carrying Capacity : 1,154
  • The entire corridor will be either underground or elevated


  • The NCRTC is a joint venture of the Centre, Haryana, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan.
  • A total of eight corridors have been identified under the Integrated Transportation Plan 2032 prepared by the National Capital Region Planning Board (NCRPB).
  • The other five RRTS corridors are — Delhi-Baraut, Delhi-Hapur, Delhi-Khurja, Delhi-Palwal and Delhi-Rohtak.
  • Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) consists of three prioritized corridors:
    • Delhi – Ghaziabad – Meerut – 90 km
    • Delhi – Gurugram – Rewari – Bahror–Sotanala- Alwar 165.4km
    • Delhi – Sonipat – Panipat – 111 km

Image Credit

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of